Now that you've decided to use a Google Shared Mailbox, let's talk about how to use it.
A Note About Passwords
A Shared Mailbox has one owner with a password, and that password should not be shared. If a Shared Mailbox is requested, the group owner must change the account's password when the mailbox is created. It is the responsibility of that owner to delegate access to other users.
When to Use a Shared MailboxThere are several options for group accounts. If you've chosen a Shared Mailbox, you probably fall into one of two categories:
- Your group needs to be able to send new messages (originated by the group, not an outside user) from a shared email account.
- You have a service account (a dedicated email account that feeds a third-party application). For example, email@example.com is used by Desk.com for OIT support cases and customer communication. This email account is not accessed directly by individual users. Note: These accounts are created on a discretionary basis by OIT.
Shared mailboxes only have access to Gmail. Shared mailboxes do not have access to other G Suite applications such as Google Drive.
If you're not sure if a Shared Mailbox meets the needs of your group, we encourage you to review the group account options and submit a support case to OIT for further guidance.