WebEx should be a place for open collaboration — but in a controlled way. We've outlined the best practices to ensure your video conference is a secure, private meeting between invited guests.

Updates to Privacy Settings

The Office of Information Technology has updated its security policies related to WebEx. Starting with the Fall 2017 semester, all new meetings will now default to "unlisted from the public view" in the calendar within the WebEx app. If you're used to looking at the daily list of meetings found on the Search Meetings page, you'll still be able to see your meetings after logging in. 

Sharing Screens

Use Share > Application instead of Share > Screen to share specific applications and prevent accidental exposure of sensitive information on your screen.
WebEx Share Application icon image

Scheduling Your WebEx Meeting

Schedule Unlisted Meetings

To enhance meeting security settings, new meetings default to "unlisted" in the public calendar. (This hides information about the meeting, like its host, topic and starting time.)
  • To join an unlisted meeting, attendees must provide a unique meeting number (typically shared as a link in an email invitation).
  • Unlisted meetings require the host to inform the meeting attendees, either by sending a link in an email invitation or having attendees enter the meeting number using the Join Meetings page. 

Restrict Access to the Meeting

Lock the meeting once all attendees have joined the meeting. This will prevent additional attendees from
joining. Hosts can lock or unlock the meeting at any time while the session is in progress. To lock a meeting, select Meeting and then Lock Meeting.
Image of WebEx menu bar to lock meeting via "Meeting" menu bar

Removing a Participant from the Meeting

Participants can be expelled at any time during a meeting. Select the name of the participant you want to remove, then select Participant and Expel.
What to click to expel a participant. Menu bar-Participant-Expel.

Using Your Personal Room

Auto-Lock Personal Room

The web address of your personal room never changes, so you should keep in mind it's a publicly visible web address. You have the ability automatically to lock your Personal Room after your meeting starts. This can be done from My WebEx > Preferences > My Personal Room on your WebEx site. We recommend locking your room at 0 minutes. This is essentially the same as locking your room as soon as you enter it.

WebEx Personal Room steps to Autolock room via Preferences
Doing so prevents all attendees in your lobby from automatically joining the meeting. Instead, you will see a notification in the meeting when attendees are waiting in the lobby. You can then screen and allow only
authorized attendees into your meeting.

More Information

Cisco has produced a thorough list of its own best practices for hosting secure meetings with WebEx.