Now that you've decided to use a Google Shared Mailbox, let's talk about how to use it.
A Shared Mailbox is a separate Gmail inbox that can be accessed by up to 25 group members. Users with access to the mailbox can receive emails, respond to emails and compose new messages from a single account.
With a Shared Mailbox, you can organize communication with Gmail's label (folder) structure. In this way, it functions like your primary St. Edward's Gmail inbox, though the shared account is entirely separate from your individual inbox.
To add users to the mailbox, the group owner must set up email delegation. Once delegate access has been provisioned, it can take up to 30 minutes before a delegated user can access the inbox.
To access the shared mailbox, select the account icon in the top right corner of your screen and a drop-down menu will appear. Then you will see the Shared Mailbox to which you have access. Note: If you are a group member in several Shared Mailboxes, you may need to use the scrollbar on the right to view all of them.
A Shared Mailbox has one owner with a password, and that password should not be shared. If a Shared Mailbox is requested, the group owner must change the account's password when the mailbox is created. It is the responsibility of that owner to delegate access to other users.
When to Use a Shared MailboxThere are several options for group accounts. If you've chosen a Shared Mailbox, you probably fall into one of two categories:
- Your group needs to be able to send new messages (originated by the group, not an outside user) from a shared email account.
- You have a service account (a dedicated email account that feeds a third-party application). For example, firstname.lastname@example.org is used by Desk.com for OIT support cases and customer communication. This email account is not accessed directly by individual users. Note: These accounts are created on a discretionary basis by OIT.